## SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION – SCHOOL DISTRICT OF COLBY MONDAY, APRIL 27, 2020 COLBY HIGH SCHOOL LMC

The Special School Board Meeting on April 27, 2020, was called to order at 6:00 PM in the Colby High School LMC by Board President, William Tesmer. Members present were William Tesmer, Jean Schmitt, Eric Elmhorst, and Todd Schmidt. Members present via virtual meeting were Cheryl Ploeckelman, Teri Hanson, and David Decker. Also present were Superintendent Steven Kolden and Kristen Seifert.

The meeting notice was posted according to the requirements of the open meeting law.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President called for the Election of Officers: Mr. Elmhorst nominated William Tesmer for Board President. No other nominations. Mr. Tesmer elected as President.

Mr. Elmhorst nominated Cheryl Ploeckelman for Board Vice President. No other nominations. Mrs. Ploeckelman elected as Vice President.

Mrs. Ploeckelman nominated Todd Schmidt for Board Clerk. No other nominations. Mr. Schmidt elected as Board Clerk.

Mr. Elmhorst nominated David Decker for Board Treasurer. No other nominations. Mr. Decker elected as Board Treasurer.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, made the following committee and position appointments:

Cheryl Ploeckelman as WASB Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – William Tesmer
Cheryl Ploeckelman as CESA #10 Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – Eric Elmhorst
Todd Schmidt as Representative to the Colby IDEA Foundation, Inc.
Teri Hanson as Representative to the District Technology Committee
Cheryl Ploeckelman as Representative to the ESSA Plan Committee
David Decker, Board Treasurer, as Pension Plan Trustee
Kristen Seifert as Recording Secretary for Board of Education Meetings

Motion by Mr. Schmidt, seconded by Mrs. Schmitt, to designate the Nicolet Bank, Advantage Community Bank and Forward Financial Bank as depositories for school district funds. Roll call vote – Motion carried 7-0; Yes–Mr. Tesmer, Mr. Schmidt, Mrs. Ploeckelman, Mr. Decker, Mrs. Hanson, Mrs. Schmitt, Mr. Elmhorst; Abstain-None.

Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mrs. Schmitt, to designate Ruder Ware as the Legal Counsel to the District. Roll call vote – Motion carried 7-0; Yes–Mr. Tesmer, Mr. Schmidt, Mrs. Ploeckelman, Mr. Decker, Mrs. Hanson, Mrs. Schmitt, Mr. Elmhorst; Abstain-None.

Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mr. Decker to approve Johnson Block & Company for audit services. Roll call vote – Motion carried 7-0; Yes–Mr. Tesmer, Mr. Schmidt, Mrs. Ploeckelman, Mr. Decker, Mrs. Hanson, Mrs. Schmitt, Mr. Elmhorst; Abstain-None.

Motion by Mr. Schmidt, seconded by Mrs. Schmitt to designate Kristen Seifert as Deputy Clerk for the School District. Roll call vote – Motion carried 7-0; Yes–Mr. Tesmer, Mr. Schmidt, Mrs. Ploeckelman, Mr. Decker, Mrs. Hanson, Mrs. Schmitt, Mr. Elmhorst; Abstain-None.

Motion by Mrs. Schmitt, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst, to designate the Tribune Phonograph as the official paper of publication for school district business. Roll call vote – Motion carried 7-0; Yes–Mr. Tesmer, Mr. Schmidt, Mrs. Ploeckelman, Mr. Decker, Mrs. Hanson, Mrs. Schmitt, Mr. Elmhorst; Abstain-None.

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mr. Schmidt to approve the use of signature stamp/facsimile signatures for Board of Education officers. Roll call vote – Motion carried 7-0; Yes–Mr. Tesmer, Mr. Schmidt, Mrs. Ploeckelman, Mr. Decker, Mrs. Hanson, Mrs. Schmitt, Mr. Elmhorst; Abstain-None.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, appointed the following members to Board of Education Standing Committees:

Policy & Curriculum Committee – Cheryl Ploeckelman, Chair, Eric Elmhorst, Teri Hanson Facilities & Transportation Committee – Todd Schmidt, Chair, Jean Schmitt, Bill Tesmer Personnel Committee – Todd Schmidt, Chair, David Decker, Jean Schmitt Financial Affairs Committee – David Decker, Chair, Eric Elmhorst, Cheryl Ploeckleman

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mrs. Schmitt, to approve the 2020-21 Board Meeting schedule for regular school board meetings as the third Monday of the month, with the exception of April and October, being the fourth Monday of the month. Roll call vote – Motion carried 7-0; Yes–Mr. Tesmer, Mr. Schmidt, Mrs. Ploeckelman, Mr. Decker, Mrs. Hanson, Mrs. Schmitt, Mr. Elmhorst; Abstain-None.

Motion by Mrs. Schmitt, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst, to adjourn the meeting. Roll call vote – Motion carried 7-0; Yes–Mr. Tesmer, Mr. Schmidt, Mrs. Ploeckelman, Mr. Decker, Mrs. Hanson, Mrs. Schmitt, Mr. Elmhorst; Abstain-None. Meeting adjourned at 6:16 PM

Respectfully Submitted:

Kristen Seifert, Recording Secretary